Pacquiao to Mayweather: 'I'm Not Obliged to Fight Him'

22/03/2010 01:48
Upon returning to Manila on his way to Sarangani in southern Philippines where he is seeking a congressional seat in the May 10 election, Filipino boxer Manny Pacquiao said he is not obliged to fight Mayweather to cement his place in boxing history.
Manila, Philippines - WBO welterweight champion Manny Pacquiao says he is not obliged to fight undefeated American boxer Floyd Mayweather, Jr. to cement his place in boxing history. Responding persistent queries about the possibility of reviving the failed Pacquiao-Mayweather match which was originally scheduled for March 13, Pacquiao said,
 
“I’m not obliged to fight him. He’s the one who needs to fight me'. “If we compare our records, what he achieved compared to what I have achieved, modesty aside, you will see,” he added. Asked about his rumored early retirement plans, he said:
 
“It’s okay for me to retire. No problem with me. But I can still fight. No problem as well. But of course, I’ve been in boxing for so long. Since I was 12 years old, I was already fighting in the ring, until now. I’m already 31 years old,” he said.
The popular Filipino boxer said he will confer with his family on his return to Sarangani to discuss the prospect of an early retirement. Pacquiao returned to the Philippines Monday from the United States after defeating Joshua Clottey of Ghana in their fight last March 13 at the Cowboys Station in Arlington, Texas.
 
 
(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode