Clottey's Trainer Says He Got the Key to Beat Manny Pacquiao

09/03/2010 22:10
Joshua Clottey says he did not watch past Pacquiao fight video tapes to formulate his fight plan as his new trainer Lenny de Jesus, a former member of Team Pacquiao, claimed the Filipino boxer has been using same ring tactics in the past five years.
Joshua Clottey's new trainer Lenny de Jesus say he does not have to watch Pacquiao's past fight video tapes to come up with a strategy to beat Pacquiao when he squares off with Joshua Clottey on March 13 at the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington Texas.
 
De Jesus who was Pacquiao cut man for at least six fights says he has already seen everything Pacquiao is capable of doing, having worked with the pound-for-pound king as cut man and member of Team Pacquiao.
 
“I already have Manny in my mind, how he fights,” he said in a quote taken from HBO’s documentary Road to Dallas: Pacquiao vs Clottey.
 
De Jesus, a Puerto Rican who has worked as Pacquiao’s cut man for 6 fights, claims the 7-division champion has been using the same ring tactics in the past 5 years.
 
“Freddie Roach, maybe, put a little knowledge and stuff like that, a little techniques, but he's the same guy that I saw 5 years ago,” said De Jesus.
 
Joshua Clottey revealed that he has not seen any of the Pacquiao past fight video tapes. He said he is not interested.
 
“I’ve never watched his tapes. I never sit down and talk about him. The only thing I think about is me and what I have to do when I come into the ring.”
 
“I keep telling people it’s not going to be easy for me, but it’s not going to be easy for Manny either,” Clottey said during a recent conference call. “I’m going to fight the guy who people think is the best."
 
Joshua Clottey who maintains he won over Miguel Cotto in their fight last June 2009 at the Madison Square Garden in New York City says he respects Manny Pacquiao as a professional boxer but criticizes Pacquiao's trainer Freddie Roach for being disrespectful when the Hall of Fame trainer said Pacquiao will deliver Clottey's first knock out in his boxing career.
 
 
(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode