David Diaz Aims to Regain WBC Lightweight Crown

12/03/2010 21:51

Former WBC lightweight champion David Diaz is facing Humberto Soto of Mexico in the undercard of the Pacquiao-Clottey match Saturday night at the Cowboys Stadium in Texas for the WBC lightweight crown vacated by Edwin Valero.

Former WBC lightweight champion David Diaz tries to regain his old lightweight title after Filipino boxer Manny Pacquiao took it away from him in June 2008.

He fought once after his 9th round KO defeat in the hands of Pacquiao and won over Jesus Chavez in September 2009. On Saturday night, Diaz will face Humberto Soto of Mexico for the WBC lightweight crown he once held. Diaz fought only once since September 2008 while Soto fought six times.

Diaz, who is suffering from knee injury, says he is now in shape for his date with the popular Mexican boxer in the under card of the Pacquiao-Clottey match this Saturday night at the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

"I never thought that I would be a world champion. Now, to be able to be called two-time world champion? That lights a fire under my a** real quick," said Diaz, whose matchup with Soto takes place on the undercard of Pacquiao's defense of his WBO welterweight (147 pounds) title against Joshua Clottey (35-3, 20 KOs).

"That makes me want to go out there and do what I've got to do against the guy who is across the ring from me." Diaz has fought twice atfer his devastating loss to Pacquiao while Soto did a total of six fights since September 2008. Boxing fans say that Diaz may not be in top shape when he collides with Soto on Saturday night because of his inactivity.

On the other hand Sotto fought at least six times and is coming off with a 10-round unanimous decision victory over Jesus Chavez last December. Diaz and Soto are fighting for the WBC lightweight crown vacated by Edwin Valero.

Asked about his experience with Manny Pacquiao after losing on a 9th round TKO, Diaz said;

“Manny’s success has actually helped me even more. I went in there and I lost to the pound-for-pound champion so I have nothing to hang my head or be ashamed of or anything,” Diaz continues when assessing his own standing against the Filipino, showing classiness he’s renowned for. “I mean, this guy [Pacquiao] has done better against supposedly better fighters, so I feel pretty good. The motivation and everything is still there. I still wanna be world champion so, God willing and everything goes right, we’ll become champion and go from there.”

The Diaz-Soto match is one of the major main events in the under card of the Pacquiao-Clottey match taking place at the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas on Saturday night.

 

(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Make a free websiteWebnode