More Heart Attack Deaths Feared as Pacquiao Fights ClotteyTonight

13/03/2010 21:43

Philippine authorities hope that less deaths due to heart attack will occur among boxing fans of Manny Pacquiao due to extreme excitement while watching their favorite boxer on live television feed, fight Joshua Clottey Saturday night in Arlington, Texas.

As the WBO welterweight champion Manny Pacquiao climbs the ring Saturday night at the the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, a few of his fanatic fans will collapse and possibly die of heart attack due to extreme excitement while watching their boxing hero takes on Joshua Clottey.

The historic boxing fight between Manny Pacquiao and Miguel Cotto in Las Vegas last year left at least 10 boxing fans dead in the Philippines. A number of deaths were also reported during the Pacquiao-de la Hoya match and Pacquiao's last fight with Ricky Hatton of England.

Last year's number of deaths were reported to be the biggest since Pacquiao became a household name in boxing. Millions of Pacquiao boxing fans all over the country will be glued to their television sets Saturday night when Pacquiao collides with Josgua Clottey at the Cowboys Stadium.

In the meantime, both boxers have passed the weight limit for the fight conducted earlier today in the presence of the members of Teams Pacquiao and Clottey with Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, promoter Bob Arum and host of celebrities gracing the weigh-in ceremonies.

“I’m not going to promise a knockout. But I will do my best to make the people happy. I don’t want to disappoint the fans,” Pacqiao said.

During Friday’s official weigh-in just outside the main entrance of the Cowboys Stadium, Pacquiao said he worked hard over the last seven weeks, even if the normal distractions around him came up. One of these distractions is his bid to win a seat in Congress in the May 10 elections.

Pacquiao's opponent, Joshua Clottey, is confident of an upset victory with his new trainer Lenny de Jesus saying they will go for a knock out win.

“I will shock the world. I feel so good. Like I said, we have a game plan, and I’m ready to show the world who I am. This one will be different because I will be stronger than in all my fights. I trained hard for this fight. I’m ready to fight,” said Clottey who, like Pacquiao, carries the hope of his poor nation.

 

(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Make a website for freeWebnode