Popular Rapper Wyclef Jean Questioned About Foundation Funds

17/01/2010 00:00
Popular Haitian-American rapper Wyclef Jean says he is disgusted by unfounded accusations of profiting from his foundation which is in the midst of helping victims of devastation brought about by the 7.0 magnitude earthquake the hit Haiti Tuesday.

Haitian-American multi -platinum rapper and record producer Wyclef Jean is under attack by a charity screening group by questioning his foundation's accounting practices.

An Associated Press review of tax returns and independent audits provided by Jean's foundation showed that it was closely intertwined with Jean's businesses. Jean said he was baffled by the timing and nature of criticism of The Wyclef Jean Foundation Inc., which has already raised more than $2 million to help Haiti earthquake victims.

"It is impossible for me to even comprehend the recent attacks on my character and the integrity of my foundation," he said in a statement.

"The fact that these attacks come as we are mobilized to meet the greatest human tragedy in the history of Haiti only serves to perplex me even further."

The Grammy Award-winning artist is the head of Yele Haiti, a foundation that is actively working on the delivery of basic needs of the people of Haiti who were victims of the 7.0 magnitude earthquake that killed over a hundred thousand people.

The popular Haitian-American rapper denied all accusations saying: "I denounce any allegation that I have ever profited personally through my work with Yele Haiti," he wrote. "These baseless attacks are simply not true."

"I have been committed to helping the people of Haiti throughout my life, and that commitment will continue until the day I die," Jean wrote in a statement posted to his Web site, which was accompanied by a video.

 

(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Make a website for freeWebnode