Sen. Noynoy Aquino proclaimed 15th president of the Philippines

12/06/2010 09:00
by Leo Reyes
Senator Noynoy Aquino was proclaimed as the Philippines 15th president in a ceremony held at the Batasan Pambansa (National Legislature) shortly after 4 p.m. Wednesday.

Proclaimed with president-elect Aquino is Makati City mayor Jejomar C. Binay, who beat Aquino's vice-presidential running mate Sen. Mar Roxas by 727,084 votes.

The country's new president and vice-president were proclaimed by Senate president Juan Ponce Enrile and Speaker of the House of Representatives, Prospero Nograles.

In the final tally, Aquino garnered 15,208,678 votes against closest rival, former president Joseph Estrada, who got 9,487,837 votes or a difference of 5,720,841 votes.

During the campaign, president-elect Aquino said he will address the problem of graft and corruption in government institutions.

President-elect Aquino beat his closest rival former president Joseph Estrada by more than five million votes.

"I sincerely offer my congratulations to my good friend and worthy opponent," Estrada said in a speech read by his son in Congress.

"I am confident that president-elect Aquino will fulfill his campaign promise to address the problem of corruption."

The former president is out of the country to attend the graduation of his daughter in the United kingdom. He said he will retire from politics for good.

President -elect Aquino will be sworn into office on June 30, 2010 and will take over the presidency thereafter from president Gloria Macapagal Arroyo whose term expires on June 30.

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Create a free websiteWebnode