Shane Mosley Says He Will Give Floyd Mayweather Jr his first Loss

07/04/2010 12:24
WBA welterweight champion Shane Mosley says he will give Floyd Mayweather, Jr his first loss and send him back to retirement when they clash on May 1 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada

Barely three weeks before he squares off with Floyd Mayweather, Jr at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, WBA welterweight champion Shane Mosley says he will give the undefeated Floyd Mayweather, Jr his first loss in his professional boxing career.

Mosley, who defeated Antonio Margarito in their last fight at the Staples Center in Los Angeles is so confident of winning, saying he is in great shape as he steps up his training at Big Bear mountaion with his team and sparring partners.

"Right now, my weight is great. I'm probably weighing around 152-ish when I leave the gym. I look at Floyd as a natural welterweight -- a real 147-pounder. In fact, Oscar de la Hoya is the biggest guy that he's fought that was a big welterweight, and Oscar did well against him," said Mosley, who will face Mayweather live on HBO pay per view.

"I'm pretty sure that Floyd will feel more power in this fight that he will have ever had to feel," said Mosley. "And if I can get that knockout, if I get that one shot, and if I can get him hurt, then I'm going to be all over him."

Mosley belittled Mayweather's 40-0 ring record saying he had a 38-0 record when he tasted his first loss so 'that doesn't mean anything to me', he said. "All that it means is that I'll be the one giving him his first loss," said Mosley.

"No disrespect, but I really don't think he's been in there with a fighter like me. I believe that when I beat Floyd, I will send him into retirement. May 1 will be Mayweather's first loss."

While in training at the Big Bear where he maintains a home, Shane Mosley is motivated with the presence of his son Shane, Jr. an amateur boxer who started boxing at 8 years old. He is now 19 years old and competes in amateur fights in the super welterweight division.

"My son has been with me since before the Margarito fight, and I think that my son being in boxing kind of helps me stay around the gym more, training him, showing him different things. I just want to show him the ropes, and show him the way that a boxer is supposed to behave," said the elder Shane Mosley.

Shane Mosley and Floyd Mayweather, jr clash on May 1 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. The winner is expected to face pound-for-pound king Manny Pacquiao in what boxing fans say as the biggest boxing event of the decade.

 

(original article appeared @ Digital Journal )

© 2010 Leo Reyes All rights reserved.

Make a free websiteWebnode